COVID-19 Extension of Reporting Year:
Pursuant to a Supreme Court of Missouri order effective March 23, 2020, the reporting year for 2019-2020 will be for the 15 months between July 1, 2019, and Sept. 30, 2020. Any extra credit hours earned during the 2019-2020 reporting year may be carried over as prescribed in Regulation 15.05.5. The reporting deadline for the 2019-2020 reporting year is now extended until Oct. 31, 2020.
On April 8, 2020, the Kansas Supreme Court issued Administrative Order 2020-RL-033. This order modifies continuing legal education attendance and reporting deadlines, and waives the limitation on prerecorded programming through September 30, 2020. Providers are still required to make the application, and electronically report the attendance, to Kansas for distance learning programs. Applications and certificates will not be accepted from the attorney. The deadline for attendance remains June 30 but there is an automatic extension without penalty through September 30 for those who cannot meet that requirement. Attendance in Kansas must be reported by September 30 to qualify for the 2019-20 compliance period.
Continuing Legal Education requirements and restrictions for attorneys licensed in Missouri are as follows:
- Minimum CLE credit requirement is 15 hours per year, including at least three hours of ethics and professionalism and at least one of the three ethics credit hours required must be devoted exclusively to explicit or implicit bias, diversity, inclusion, or cultural competency (1 hour = 50 minutes).
- Maximum of six hours of self-study credit, including on-demand programs, is allowed each year.
- Speakers may credit up to 15 hours of preparation time for each 50-minute seminar for which they do not receive compensation.
- Authors of continuing legal education publications may credit a maximum of 15 hours of research and composition for any one work.
- Maximum of 15 hours, including 3 hours of ethics and professionalism, may be carried over from one year to the next.
To see complete requirements as detailed in Missouri Supreme Court Rule 15, click here.