KCMBA's 51st Annual Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference
May 8-10, 2024

The Lodge of Four Seasons, Lake Ozark, MO

Program Materials

Views From The Bench

How Are You Thinking About language?

20 Reasons to Get Married (OR NOT!)

How the New bar Exam Could Impact the Legal Profession

Ethical Implementation of Generative AI in Law

Click Here to Register   



Lodge of Four Seasons Map


Scholarship opportunities through the KCMBA Young Lawyers Section, Diversity Section and AWLF

KCMBA’s Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference is always a wonderful opportunity for the Kansas City legal community to come together in a relaxed setting.

Book your room at Lodge of Four Seasons

View the Venue

 Make a reservation at The Lodge's Spa Shiki in advance to ensure availability. 

Call (573) 365-8108 to book.

For more information on KCMBA's 2024 Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference, or to sponsor, please e-mail [email protected]





Deans of the Trial Bar

Jerome E. Brant

Withers, Brant, Igoe & Mullennix, P.C. 


Marie L. Gockel

Bratcher Gockel Law, LC


Jim Griffin

Ast Kennard Griffin PC



Barons of the Boardroom

Sandra T. Hawley
Shook, Hardy & Bacon


Leonard Searcy, II
Shook, Hardy & Bacon

Distinguished Counselors

Athena Dickson
Siro Smith Dickson PC


Jill Kanatzar
Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe L.C.


Thomas J. Conway Award

Jack T. Hyde

Wagstaff & Cartmell


Sly James Diversity and Inclusion Award

Hon. Martina L. Peterson
Municipal Court Judge for the 16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri –
Kansas City Municipal Division



Hon. Kelly J. Moorhouse Dedication to Children Award

Robert E. Gordon
Gordon Law Firm, LLC


Hon. Matt J. Whitworth Trial Excellence Award

James R. Hobbs
Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian, P.C.

James R. Wyrsch
Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian, P.C.


Young Lawyer of the Year Award


Lauren Dollar

Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe


Past BBBC Award Recipients



51st Annual Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference Honorary Chairs

Hon. Beth Phillips

U.S. Courts - Western District of Missouri

Hon. Lajuana M. Counts

U.S. Courts - Western District of Missouri

Hon. Gary D. Witt

Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District


Hon. Karen Krauser

7th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri -Clay County

Hon. Jerri J. Zhang

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County

Hon. Jalilah Otto

16th Judicial Circuit Court of Missouri - Jackson County

Hon. Jacquelyn Rokusek

10th Judicial Circuit Court of Kansas - Johnson County


Hon. Charles J. Droege

10th Judicial District Court of Kansas - Johnson County

Thank you to our 2024 BBBC Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Awards Dinner Sponsor


Wi-Fi Sponsor


Conversations and Cocktails Sponsor


Dollar, Burns, Becker & Hershewe, LC


Welcome Reception Sponsor



Pre-Awards Dinner Reception Sponsor


Hotel Key Card Sponsor


Janssen Estate Probate & Elder Law

Snack Bag Sponsors




McCarthy Leonard Kaemmerer & Miller


Break Sponsors




Golf Tournament Sponsor

Thursday Breakfast Sponsor  

Thursday Lunch Sponsor




Friday Breakfast Sponsor








Additional Booth Participant





Did you miss our video segment at our 49th Annual Bench-Bar & Boardroom Conference? You can view it below!

The password to view the video is benchbar2022